LA county fair

I’m a sucker for fairs and markets, the bigger the better. Having never gone to one until I was in high school, I feel like I’m trying to make up for lost time. So this weekend we went to the LA county fair.

LA county fair

A post shared by Sharon Hampton (@jumpseatexplorer) on

One of my favorite things about big state fairs is wandering through the livestock barns, and seeing all the animals, and this fair didn’t disappoint …they had some pretty cool unique animals too like zebra hybrids, monkeys, and sloths. And to go with the dairy cow display, baby calves that were just days old!

But, while you expect any fair to be overpriced, this one really was ridiculous. Many of the fair foods were close to twenty dollars!! And while they did have some pretty awesome boutique and fine food selections (lots of pork belly on menus), I would much rather pay the same price and be in a restaurant with a server, and real plates and cutlery. (I know it makes me sound like a snob). We did manage to find some great Mexican food, (one of my favorite things about Southern California) and funnel cakes!

#LAcountyfair

A post shared by Sharon Hampton (@jumpseatexplorer) on

LA county fair

A post shared by Sharon Hampton (@jumpseatexplorer) on

We also wandered into the exhibition hall where they had things from the schools around. Science fairs, drawings, photography…these kids are talented!! I’d be happy to create, at thirty, some of the things that nine-year olds are doing! And for the adults we saw a pretty cool exhibit where they set up theme tables. (I’m toying with trying to enter one next year)
All in all, the fair was a pretty awesome weekend excursion. And maybe I’ll be a participant next year!

Leave a Reply

